Home Technical Talk

Max 8 Videos

Fordy
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Fordy polycounter lvl 18
Sorry if this has been posted before but have you all seen the MAX 8 new features videos?

Checkout the Pelt Mapping, im no expert but everybody's favourite chore UV mapping looks to have suddenly become very easy and very quick.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=5903856

Replies

• Cubik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cubik polycounter lvl 18
    Pelt mapping just looks more and more sexy every time I see it. Anyone in on some beta or something that can tell us how efficient it is?
  • KMan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KMan polycounter lvl 18
    It's pretty freakin tight. What would have taken me at least a full work day to unwrap a complicated character model took only 30 minutes to get all the pieces pelted, and then maybe another hour or two on cleanup and organization.
  • FatAssasin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    FatAssasin polycounter lvl 18
    In my mind, pelt mapping is overkill.

What's really cool are the inclusion of mapping gizmos in the UnwrapUVW modifier and the new Relax algorithms. You can now completely unwrap a model using only one Unwrap modifier, instead of having to continually select a group of faces, add a UVWMapping modifier, add an Unwrap modifier, move the UV's, collapse and repeat.

And the new Relax functions make sure your UV's are flattened out in proportion to the mesh. It's just like the uvHelp script, if you've ever used that.

So those two improvements alone will hugely speed up unwrapping times. The pelt mapping system, to me, is clunky to use and more complicated than it needs to be. And using the two features I've just described, I haven't found a need to use it beyond a bit of experimenting.

Also, the Skin improvements are awesome and will speed that area up a lot too.