Home Technical Talk

Maya - Rubish in U.V. Editor

Irodex
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Irodex polycounter lvl 18
Hey guys, I am new to Maya and am following one of the Gnomon video tutorials. When I open my U.V. editor for the first time, I get this rubish, which, what looks to me like a pre-layed out U.V. that Maya has put in. When I select certain lines in the editor it will select faces on my model.

Here is what it looks like :

24819305895.jpg

If anyone can tell me how to clear that stuff, without deleting faces on my model, it would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks.

Replies

• monster
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter
    You can just select all the faces in the perspective view and apply a planar or cylindrical mapping.
  • Irodex
    Offline / Send Message
    Hm, when I do that it plops down a huge UV of my head..but thats not exactly what I want to do. Any other ideas?
  • vahl
    Offline / Send Message
    vahl polycounter lvl 18
    apply several planar/cylindrical mappings on different parts of your mesh, then tweak them, moving uv points, stitching edges etc... or if you're very lazy, apply an automatic maping but it's shitty
  • SouL
    Offline / Send Message
    SouL polycounter lvl 18
    If you want a clean area to work with, you have 2 options.

You can press F12, select all the UV points (in the viewport) and delete them. Check one of the menus in the UV editor... it should be there. This wipes out all of your UVs. But it'll display the polygons in your viewport in this white transparent garbage that makes things difficult to read.

So do this instead:

Press F12, select all your UV points in the viewport, open your UV editor and right click. Left clicking will make you lose your selection. Then simply scale everything down and move it off to another area in the editor.