Home Technical Talk

Next-gen Facial Animation using Bones

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Snowfly polycounter lvl 18
http://www.satoworks.com/masterclasspage.html

Too bad the artist doesn't show his setup.
Still the most memory cost effective way to animate a head? I would think blend shapes are quicker to make and setup, but are more expensive to store in memory. I'm guessing current and next-gen systems have enough muscle to store blenshapes though (some characters in RE4 had 30+), and they are promarily used in cutscenes anyways. I'm not an industry pro..Anyone care to play devil's advocate?

Replies

• monster
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter
    I don't really see anything that qualifies this as "next-gen" other than simply adding a few more bones than usual.

Blend shapes use more memory, and are usually created from a bone rig anyway. Bone rigs use more cpu/gpu. This used to be a bottle neck, but now that modern gpu's can do hardware skinning there's almost no expense.

On all the games I've worked on, I've had an easier time with the ones that used bones instead of morph targets. Programmers usually want bones in the eyes anyway to target objects.
  • Daz
    Offline / Send Message
    Daz polycounter lvl 18
    I know Sato and have worked with him. Nice guy, very talented artist but a baaaad Art Director. Sheen I know too who did the rig. Very clever guy. They're both at EA LA. The rig looks to be based on the Jason Osipa method?