Home Technical Talk

A5 or A4? Wa-Comeon!

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
hawken polycounter lvl 19
A6:
I've been using an A6 size wacom for about 5 or 6 months and to be honest I feel _less_ than creative on the tiny thing. It's great for browsing the net but has far too many warped areas, the sheilding is terrible and drawing straight lines in photoshop often come out a bit wobbly.

A5:
In my old Job I used an A5 for about 2 years. I must admit that I did far more creative work and sometimes felt compelled to use it becuase it was "there". The tilt and sensitivity were fantastic, however I did notice that occasionally drawing lines in photoshop would sometimes come out all wiggly. I'm not sure if this is just my hand or the rez on the tablet.

A4:
At my old company we also had an ancient serial Ituos1 A4. This thing just seemed super silly massive, was a total workout to move the cursor from one side of the screen to the other. We hardly ever used it, the thing ended up on our game designers desk, to which he used it for sketching at lunchtime and took to his laser mouse for all other tasks.
I noticed the rez on this thing was incredible.

So, now that I'm ready to buy a new Wacom (obviously, the intuos3) and with my laptop screen being just a tad bigger than A4, and wanting to do more creative stuff - or at least be be inspired to, I can't choose which size to buy! There are obvious speed gains to an A5 but the A4 would compliment my laptop.

(there's a bluetooth version of the A5, too)

Replies

• thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    quite simply: bigger is better. besides you can separate the drawing area into several smaller ones, giving you e.g. another quickpoint area or whatever it's called.