Home General Discussion

Working in the games industry these days?

FEMTO
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
FEMTO polycounter lvl 18
Hi guys,

I am seriously thinking about wanting to get into the games industry. I have been playing around with 3D studio max for about two years now. I really love it, and at the moment I have mainly been doing low to mid poly stuff, and no high poly stuff. I can see that the industry is dramatically changing, with the advancement of technology and games moving towards mainly using normal mapped models. Therefore, since I have no experience with normal mapping, I want to know how important is it to have normal mapped models in your portfolio? What are the key things the industry is looking for in a portfolio these days? Is it too late for me? I want to start searching for a job within the industry within the next 6 months to a year. Please can you help me out? I am really confused about the direction my life is going at the moment and need some advice on understanding exactly what is expected from the industry now and in the near future? Is low/mid polygon modelling going to be something of the past?

Thanks if you are able to help me out, and if not thanks for taking the time to read my post!

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    After E3 this year it seems everyone has switched gears and gone next gen/normal map crazy. I think it is important to show low poly tenique because the meshes those normal maps go on are still pretty low poly. Showing both high and low poly detail is important. I wouldn't really worry about applying normal maps to models unless you want to practice up and learn one of the ways to do it. More than likely whatever company you go to work for will do it differently. So having a good solid understanding of the overall process and being able to adapt and learn new things is more key over having a few normal maps slapped on a model or two.