Home General Discussion

video game voice actor strike...

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
bearkub polycounter lvl 18
http://news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&u=/ap/20050525/ap_on_bi_ge/video_games_labor

I didn't really hear anything about this from the people that attended E3 and thought it was a fairly decent discussion piece, if nothing else.

Replies

• Hollowmind
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hollowmind polycounter lvl 18
    That's funny. They do the least amount of work on a game and want to get paid the most? Sheesh. Seems like most of the voice acting in games could be done within a week or two vs. the years it takes to do all the coding, artwork, testing, etc.

Blah, what do I know. I'm just a hobbyist. wink.gif
  • rawkstar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rawkstar polycounter lvl 19
    Cmon man without union actors it'd be game over ... man....

LOL WHAT A BUNCH OF RETARDS!
  • KDR_11k
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KDR_11k polycounter lvl 18
    Considering the average quality of voice acting in games I'm surprised they get any money at all.
  • JKMakowka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JKMakowka polycounter lvl 18
    [ QUOTE ]
    Considering the average quality of voice acting in games I'm surprised they get any money at all.

[/ QUOTE ]

You get what you pay for.

I think voice acting and soundFX in general is kind of lacking in a lot of games. There are excerptions like Vietcong, but in general it seems like that is one of the areas where 'corners are cut'.

And good sound/music/voice acting is for most singleplayer games about as important as graphics and gameplay.
  • ElysiumGX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ElysiumGX polycounter lvl 18
    I'll provide voice acting for cheap. I can do a pretty good Quagmire, and that guy in the wheel chair. Still working on Peter's laugh and "go on".