Home General Discussion

Where are the doom 3 models?

Zitheral
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Zitheral polycounter lvl 18
I am curious why we haven't seen any Doom 3 work from the polycount community. It has been almost half a year... I would have expected some folks to have made a few weapons and maybe a character or two by now. Anyone have any insight as to why that is not the case? Is it too hard? Are the technical skill requirements too high these days? If so that makes me very sad. I am not an artist but as the project leader for the Weapons Factory franchise I stop by every once in a while hunt around for talent.

So what is holding people back from making Doom 3 assets? Is it just lack of interest in the engine or is there something about the difficulty that is causing it?

Replies

• Weiser_Cain
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Weiser_Cain polycounter lvl 18
    I've seen one. It's just such a big commitment and there aren't as many hipoly guys and gals as there are low/mid poly guys and gals.
  • Zitheral
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    That is unfortunate for mod authors working with the Doom 3 engine technology. frown.gif
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Well, I know KDR_11k has made a few Doom3 player models, Vahl has made a couple, Teddy's made one and Pior's Fishboy is destined for Doom3.

The main problem is the game's lack of PPM support, I think, coupled with the fact that making a normal-mapped model takes longer and more effort than a low-poly model for Quake3 or UT.
  • ElysiumGX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ElysiumGX polycounter lvl 18
    Where are the Doom3 mods? huh? I remember seeing some anime chicks ingame. KDR's handywork no doubt.
  • Zitheral
    Options
    Offline / Send Message