Home Technical Talk

uPaint, .upp, .psk and custom models for UT2k4

BeXoR
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
BeXoR polycounter lvl 18
Hello, I'm new and I don't know what I'm doing!

I recently started learning how to skin for UT2k4. Just the basics, editing skins, doing team skins, alpha channel stuff. I've been using Photoshop and the udn plugin.

I wanted to reskin Visimo's Trainer Girl model. I started messing around with her face but I really need practise and to do more on it before I can claim credit for the work I've done (I only redid the eyes and brows, then tweaked the rest of the face in experimentation). I think I'll be sweet for the head, but I attempted to start some very basic work on the body and was having trouble. With the flat textures things don't line up on her sides and I have to resave and import and check in UED then edit and resave... :/

So I thought let's try uPaint! Except I don't know how to open her there. I don't think I have the programs to convert her to .upp or .psk, and I'm a little (a lot) blurry on what I'm meant to do. I have the sdk saved but I don't understand what people use to paint them with or what programs to convert em with, etc, etc. I have spent hours today googling and every time I find something it's someone asking the same question and it's unanswered. So my question(s) is/are:

How do I turn Visimo's Trainer Girl into a .upp/.psk or how can I use the sdk to paint her from scratch in uPaint? Or is there some easier way for me to do this?

I wanted to rough her out in uPaint and do the detail work afterwards in PS once I know everything's where it's meant to be.

I'd appreciate any help!

Replies

• KDR_11k
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KDR_11k polycounter lvl 18