Home Unreal Engine

Unreal Engine 5 Blending Materials

Hello. I want to do material blending for painting a terrain in Unreal Engine, and I’ve done it using three materials and height lerp. My question is, since I’m doing this with RGB channels, I can’t use more than three materials. How can I use layer painting together with height lerp? I want to increase the number of materials beyond three, and also make sure the materials are painted according to their respective height maps. I’m new to this, so I apologize if I’ve written something incorrectly. I searched for this but couldn’t find anything. If you have any sources on this topic, I’d appreciate it if you could share them. It would be great if you could show this with nodes because I’m not familiar with using layer nodes yet, but I think they can be combined.

This is the node I'm using. I want to increase number of materials.

Replies

• Fabi_G
    Offline / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter
    Hi! I would check out Epics documentation on the topic of Landscape Materials. Perhaps they have some step by step tutorial in their documentation too.

If you want to cut out the tech-art part to focus on content, you could search for a sample project that does similar things you're looking to do and reuse its resources.

Named reroute nodes and material functions could help to improve the readability of your material graph.
  • drstalibov
    Thanks your answer. Do you know the project in which this is used? And If you have any knowledge about terrain making, I would like to ask you something. Are the terrains in the games made in one piece or is the whole map divided into pieces? If so, how do they make the transition in the cuts at the joint? Do they make the whole map and then divide it in a 3D program?
  • fangazza
  • Fabi_G
    Offline / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter
    Hi! To find suitable samples, I would comb through the marketplace.