Home Unreal Engine

Blueprint vehicle movement help

Asim7
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Asim7 polycounter lvl 9
I am not experienced in programming or blueprint, I know just very basic stuff.
I was following a tutorial for a vehicle, but I wanted to do some extra stuff. Like making the vehicle tilt on the side as it turns. Like in this image, the vehicle tilts on the Y axis not just turning.

The tutorial made the vehicle tilt backwards and forwards during acceleration via the Set Center of Mass on the X axis. Like this
Based on acceleration (W & S on WASD controls) the center of mass changes on X axis by 50.

Now I want to do based on steering (A & D keys) the center of mass changes on Y axis (left and right)
I did it like this.

The tutorial used add torque to make the vehicle turn on the Z axis left and right, i'm then adding the center of mass shift sideways. However! It is only doing it on 1 side, if I turn left mass goes left, if I turn right the mass still goes left :(

Any ideas or help with this?

Here is the vehicle

Replies

• Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    questions like this are best asked on the official unreal forums

i wont look into the details on this but here is some general information
    given an input of some float value like an input axis value, that is going from positive to negative
    you can use a map range clamped node to normalize the value
    for example, turn a range of -150 to 150 to -1 to 1

from this you can do pretty much whatever you want, whether that is directly lerp the vehicles rotation, or adjust some parameters for the physics sim
    it's a little more advanced, but once you are familliar with map range and normalizing values, should look into using curves assets as well
    a curve works same way as Map Range node but gives you more control.