Home Technical Talk

[Sculpting Issue] Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Shapes ???

Kyle_butler
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Kyle_butler polycounter lvl 11
Hi all! 
I'm studying 3d sculpting for more time than I'd like to admit but some concepts that may be quite simple/obvious for most are not  clear to me... I believe maybe I'm not cut out to this, at least professionally, but I'd like to improve on sculpting as a hobby.

Could someone please share an example (on a human face) of Primary, Secondary and Tertiary forms? 

The feedback I keep getting in my sculptures is "you lack secondary details" but I really don't know what those are...  

I found two images online of this concept on aliens, but it remains elusive to me.

Thanks, guys!

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    i wouldn't get too hung up on definitions because its not standardized so everybody has their own ideas what things mean.

Maybe you could show examples of your own process and describe the major steps that you take? What is the goal for each step? Why do you do the steps in such and such order?

In context of a head sculpt - to me - primary means the major planes are such that we have a believable figure. It seems that there is a skull, cheek bones, eye sockets, jaw, etc.

With only the primary forms anybody knows what it is and upon immediate viewing wouldn't think, "somethings weird about that head."

Secondary is any important details needed to make it look good but don't define the silhouette pretty much.

Tertiary / details is just surface level stuff. FInishing touches.

Personally I don't care for jargon because I think its often just used to feign expertise, or it just creates miscommunication as people believe they have a common understanding but don't. Unless its a team working together and have defined a standard language, seems like it causes more harm than good. JMO
  • Kyle_butler
    Options