Home General Discussion

How is Blender with Unreal (UE5) these days?

Equanim
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Equanim polycounter lvl 11

I'm starting an indie project and I'm thinking about leveraging Blender in place of Maya. I'd be using it to model assets, animate characters, render concepts, and export into Unreal.

I have close to 20 years of experience with Maya, but Blender's come a long way. Has anyone used it in their pipeline? What issues have you run into? Where does it shine?

Replies

• thomasp
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character

Ok, so I'm openly a Blender-nut but if you have 20 years on Maya, why change? Assuming your experience with it has been at least a reasonably pleasant one you'll be in a world of hurt changing from one 3D app to another while trying to do all of that.

Blender has a performance issue with more complex scenes: many polys and/or many objects, that's about the only problem with it I can think of. Apart from that it's just rather non-standard in how its laid out and the basic usability, coming from Maya. I figure it will take a lot of getting used to, of time spent re-configuring, looking for the right addon - perhaps writing your own, composing angry forum posts complaining that feature X does not exactly behave like the one you know and so on.

• myclay
    Online / Send Message
    myclay polycounter lvl 10

20 years in another program is a lot of muscle memory to fight against.

Agreed with thomasp, if I may add, those performance issues come especially while being in edit mode.(actively editing vertices,edges,polys) Sculpt mode and object mode can handle heaps more data.

Another pain point compared to other programs is the Texture Baking, bake from high to lowpoly inside Blender when baking onto a 4k texture or 8k texture. But I generally try to use other programs for Texture painting/baking.

On the + side, loading in large files with obj into Blender is multithreaded and really quick.