Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio feedback and general advice

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
vavavoom polycounter lvl 11
Hello polycounters~

I've been working on trying to build up a portfolio to present my work.

I've been trying to achieve a style that works for my skillset.
I am self taught in the free time I have to spare and have tinkered away as and when I can over the years to try and improve.

My main focus has mostly been to create my own sci-fi/fantasy world taking inspiration from all the things I like.
The goal was to use it as a vehicle to create my own characters and other things, to give me a kind of direction and motivation.

I'd like to think I have a solid grasp of building up from low to high poly with solid topology, but as far as texturing, materials, rigging etc. I have only basic knowledge and experience, hence the simplistic materials and somewhat clunky looking character poses in many cases.

Any feedback, advice or anything would be greatly received and appreciated.

I don't want to ramble on too much, so here's the link:
https://www.artstation.com/vomo/albums/all

Replies

• Fabi_G
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter
    Hi :)

I think your Space Rogue character designs look simple but cool - however presentation of all models could use more interesting lighting and (as you noted) materials. You could focus on learning this, by using what you got as a basis. If you want to make characters for games, try implementing a character into a game engine.

For what kind of job do you want to apply? This will dictate what you need to show.

Much success :+1:
  • vavavoom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks @Fabi_G,
    appreciate you looking and your feedback greatly :)

I'm glad you think the characters are cool. The character designs are simple in design through a combination of style choice and my skill limitation.