Home Technical Talk

Creating a mobile idle game?

Hi,

I've been thinking of challenging myself with making a mobile game like Penguin Isle myself, but I need some advice on it.

My background is 3D modelling/environment art and has created FPS environment in UE4 before.

However, I don't really know where to start with idle games.

First, I think many idle games have a fixed landscape increase to certain levels, and I assume they add area asset to the levels.

But what I want to try is to randomly increase the size of the land to increase of the levels if it makes sense.

I'm sure there should be a way to achieve it, but I just haven't really set this kind of environment up before.

Second, I've done some research but people didn't really recommend creating idle games in UE4.

Is there any specific reason for this or would it worth taking the challenge in UE4?

I think I'm being a bit unclear, but what I need in the end is some advice on how it would work or some resources that I could access online.

Thank you!

Replies

• LatteIsHorse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    To add more, I want to make something like Abyssrium or My Oasis, so just any advice on making games like these would be great!
  • sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    To be honest on the face of it, not that much of a challenge...

Anyway to begin with:

'Clickers' have been around for a while, hence a progressive saturation of 'Cookie Clicker' crap mobile clones floating about the ether plus using UE would be overkill for what essentially is a 2D sprite game also Unity would most probably more than suffice, as well.

Learning stuff:
  • LatteIsHorse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi said:
    To be honest on the face of it, not that much of a challenge...

Anyway to begin with: