Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modeling Reel

Hello,
my name is Kimberly and I am in my last semester of college at Lynn University. I am presenting my final demo for portfolio. any advice is welcome.

Replies

• Kimberlyg7
  • JamesBrisnehan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JamesBrisnehan polycounter
    Good instincts to put your best work first.

The apartment looks great. I quite like the lighting, though it looks a little over exposed over near the big window. As for the models and topology, the flower petals seem unnecessarily dense, and the glass table seems unusually low-poly in comparison. It looks like the glass table has 'holding edges' though, so I'm guessing you're going for a high-res, sub-division type of render. In that case, excessive polygons probably won't matter. However, learning how to create clean low-res models will be essential if you decide to pursue work in games, VR, or real-time arch-vis. Also, showing off the wireframes and texture maps of more of your models such as the couch, pillows, and candelabras would be nice. (That is if you have texture maps to show. Looking at it again, it looks like you're doing procedural noise-based textures. Perhaps show the UV's instead?)

I'm sorry if I sound harsh when I say this, but the character feels unfinished to me. The model/sculpt is missing some of the finer anatomical details that are in the original concept, and the painted-on lines unfortunately aren't enough to make up for it. I think the lines are also a bit too a-symmetrical. The textures are completely lacking in detail, and they just look like flat colors to me. With a stylized character like this, the textures should bring the character to life. Lighting is also pretty flat and lifeless.