Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Sighiskor - a medieval village - Environment Art

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Alanandrade92 polycounter lvl 5

Hi all!

My name is Alan, an environment artist from Brazil who is constantly learning and falling in love for 3D environments.

Thanks to Thiago Klafke’s mentorship, who is Senior environment artist at Blizzard, I am taking things to the next level. As an environment artist I was full of doubt about how would you tackle a huge environment.

How does one make a big environment under a tight deadline?

My objective doing this mentorship is to have this question answered and learn workflows that will help me quickly iterate around my environment in each process and create a somewhat flexible but yet sistemic pipeline that will balance quality and agility. For this I’ll be experimenting a lot of different workflows that I’m used to and with the help of Thiago I am sure that we’ll achieve something really unique.

I decided to make an environment based on Lovecraft’s stories (no story specifically), where a cosmic creature fallen from the sky would twist people around it, making those people behave strangely and starting a cult to praise this creature. Other influences that made me write a backstory to this environment were the French movie Brotherhood of the Wolf (Le pacte des loups), the anime Berserk and the game Bloodborne.

The first step was to gather a lot of references, from movies, old art, books, everything that could help me imagine an environment and start doing a mood board that will drive everything on my scenario.

I kept the mood board with just a few pictures per topic, as this will keep straightfoward as possible on making each part of my environment.

Later I can gather more references as I’ll be doing specific things such as materials, models, architecture, etc, but this will be my “art director”.