Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UE4 Samurai Character | Looking for feedback

This is my first time posting on here so please let me know if I'm doing something wrong. This is a portfolio piece I made over the past month and a half. All rendered in UE4. I made as much as I could from scratch the exceptions being the mouth, eyes, and base skin shader which were modified from the Digital Human project.

I recently graduated and I'm looking for some feedback, so feel free to destroy it or simply some things you'd like to see added.

For more pics and a couple of videos check out my ArtStation post.
https://www.artstation.com/artwork/5XBaG8

Replies

• hreazee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hreazee polycounter lvl 9
    This is looking nice, very good detailing in the armour and consistency in small and mid forms. I can tell you did your research so good work!

Since you asked - A few things i can say that this piece is lacking though is that lighting needs works. right now its really hard to appreciate the form and silhouette of your character, while the black background is masking  everything else the light doesn't touch. 

Next is texturing. the skin seems spot on (and mouth looks incredible). The armour however looks too clean and shiny, some areas I cannot tell what kind of material it is (from a distance it looks like plastic) Observation on type of materials you use and how to portray it in 3D can be challenging but it makes a massive difference. I suggest you practice using susbtance painter and just use the preset materials there. (or even create simple props using it) and eventually you get a good grasp of on how to portray textures and materials in your renders. (I think your sword render is stronger than the armour)