Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Would like some 100% honest but constructive criticism on my models

Ravanex
node
Offline / Send Message
Ravanex node
I started learning 3D in March 2019 in a "school". It was nowehere near an university tbh. It was only 2 days a week for 3-4 hours so not much really but it was enough to learn the basics and even some more. However I think it's not enough for a job. My teachers were people who work in the game industry (one modeller and one texture/concept artist) and they told me that my models look good so maybe I'm not completly hopeless. :D

The textures were made by me using Substance Painter smart materials and masks and some smart materials I've downloaded but all of them was tweaked so I didn't just put them on.

Königstiger

https://imgur.com/a/VFnVP7S

It was one of my models for the school final exam. My teachers liked it, actually they said that my models are one of the best in the class. I'm not completly satisfied with it, it looked way better in my head but I guess that's how it is most of the time if you do art :D Also it's just a low poly model so no baked textures from highpoly.

Old alarmclock

https://imgur.com/a/gdfmp3P

I made this around the beginning of the school, it was just a simple assigment. Only low poly, no highpoly.

Old TV

https://imgur.com/a/bi81oeC

Also a school assigment, this time for mid-term. The teacher really like it, I got the best grade for it.

Modern/Sci-fi Revolver

https://imgur.com/a/UC52qIY

I'm currently working on this one, it's only the high poly model I haven't started the low poly yet. The topology is pretty weird somewhere I know, especially around the holes in the barrel but this is the best I could do without visible problems on the model :D This will be the first time I'll try to bake highpoly to lowpoly.