Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] - Sci-FI Terminal/ATM - Begginer looking for advivce

Hi Everyone

This is my first post on polycount :) 

I'm very new to 3D modelling and I'm looking for some advice. I've been working on this sci-fi terminal/ATM and I've got to a point where I'm not sure how to continue. The goal is for this to be a game asset with the final piece rendered in Unity or UE4, Initially I started with the intention of creating a low poly version first but after reading some advice on this forum I decided to aim for a high poly first. I started again from scratch and the photos attached are as far as I've got with my attempt at the high poly. Obviously the model is still very low poly. 

My question is what's the best way to move forward to a high poly model?

I've tried to refine the form using both a subdivision surface modifier and with just using bevels. Neither Approach seems to be really going in the right direction. If anyone has any pointers they would be much appreciated :-D Thanks.

Here's some some quick colors I threw on to help visualise the parts. I intend to texture the final piece in substance painter.

I may well just be going in completly the wrong direction.

The concept art is for star citizen and is by Sheng Lam https://www.artstation.com/shenglam

Replies

• Dethling
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dethling polycounter lvl 11
    Use more geo.
     Unless it's for an low poly game or it's really small on the screen I would use more geo to round the edges, define the chamfered edges and give more details. 
    Also you missed a lot of details (e.g. at the top on the side is a part in the concept which is missing in your version) and didn't got the shapes correct (which is part based on the low poly count). Try to work in as much details as possible, don't bother for polycount at this moment, it's always easier to remove details then to add them.