Home Technical Talk

Is the perpetual license for Marvelous designer worth buying?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Mimir polycounter lvl 5
I'm currently a student and want to become a professional character artist (for games), I have recently bought zbrush and I find making cloths really time consuming. I want to buy Marvelous designer but I'm not a fan of the subscription model, I know the perpetual license doesn't come with the updates and bug fixes but it is a one time fee. Is it worth buying the perpetual license or should i just pay for the subscription?

Also the perpetual license for Marvelous 7 is 30% off on steam which is why i'm so tempted to buy it, as i'm probably not going to get it for any cheaper. If someone can give me some insight on what I should do I would really appreciate it.

Replies

• thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    personally i have no idea about steam and what it means to have your license associated with that but i don't think MD is advancing in fundamental ways that would quickly render your version outdated. the general workflow has been stable for a bunch of years now - at least the way i've used it.

• Mimir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mimir polycounter lvl 5
    thomasp said:
    personally i have no idea about steam and what it means to have your license associated with that but i don't think MD is advancing in fundamental ways that would quickly render your version outdated. the general workflow has been stable for a bunch of years now - at least the way i've used it.

Thanks for the insight, I'm just a little worried about newer versions getting cool new features but if they don't advance much as you say then I think the perpetual license seems like a good deal. Btw I would rather not have it on steam but the sale happens to be on steam and not on their website, which kinda sucks because apparently you can't use MD offline.
  • thomasp
    Options