Home Technical Talk

re cloth techniques for games

Ruz
polycount lvl 666
Offline / Send Message
Ruz polycount lvl 666
so do most people uses marvelous designer now for all cloth stuff or is it still relevent to
do hand sculpted stuff in zbrush ?
The latter seems to take forever/tweaking, mucking about and its hard to actually gauge how it will look after it is baked down.
Because as we all know everything looks nice in zbrush then instantly terrible in all other situations  :)

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    I'm not a pro but I've heard a few character artist say nobody sculpts clothes anymore.

I used to not like Marvelous Designer because it was really tedious, but in MD8 you can build your clothes in DCC  and then extract MD patterns from UV shells. No more arrangement points and all that. Plus with 3d sewing, the whole package is really pretty quick and intuitive. I'm enjoying it a lot now. Still can be a pain at times, but there's just no way you could sculpt realistic folds in the same amount of time or with as much flexibility.
  • zachagreg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    zachagreg ngon master
    I do detailing in Zbrush for damage and frayed/ tattered cloth but even that now can be done in Painter so for the most part MD8 and not Zbrush. For when I don't feel like paying for MD8 because the cloth is not that important as an element or that intricately folded I use blender.

Though Zbrush is good for this workflow. https://www.artstation.com/artwork/nQz0y9

• Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    good comments guys, thnks.
    MD8 sounds cool.( have not used MD for years)
    Blender seems to do nice cloth sims and someone made a cool MD style system also( garment based)

will do some more research
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter