Home Coding, Scripting, Shaders

[Maxscript] random UV position of texture

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
4KI75E4NN polycounter lvl 10
Hi,
I am new to Maxscript and dont know much about it, but to start, I would like to make a script that positions a texture randomly on a mesh.For example, I have 10 floor tiles and have one material. Every floor tile should have the same material but the UV position of the texture from the material should always be set random by the script with code like meditMaterials[1][#Maps][#color__Map__1____chesspattern].coords.U_distance = random <1> <10>
Is this possible ?

Replies

• PolyHertz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    So you want each element in the UV of a single mesh to be randomly positioned? For that you would need to collect the UV verts for each UV element, generate a random XY offset value for each element, and then apply that to said elements UV verts using the SetVertexPosition function (though I was never able to get that function to work with instanced UVW modifiers).
  • 4KI75E4NN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yes, each floor tile should look different with only one material if possible, by setting the UV value different with the script for each mesh with the material applied to.

• PolyHertz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    Well I already explained basically how you'd go about writing such a script.
    If you're hoping someone else will write the script though you'll need to post an example mesh and material you'd like said script to work on.
  • 4KI75E4NN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ok thanks, seems to be more complicated than I thought it might be.
  • Swordslayer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Swordslayer interpolator