Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Finished] Aston Model 1842 caplock pistol

Anura_Interceptor
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Anura_Interceptor polycounter lvl 5
This is my first major project that I did outside of a tutorial, everything before this was fairly simple and only required very basic box modeling. It's taken 11 months because I lost interest and got back into it so many times. It's rough in a few areas, but I think going to a new project and doing it better from the start with what I've learned is more productive then redoing whole parts over again after spending so long already.

Textures used are metal19 for the steel bits, metal07 for the brass, and wood09 for the wood, all from cc0textures.com.

[FIRST POST BELOW]
I'm fairly new to 3D modelling, this pistol is the first big project that pushes the limits of my ability that I've done. Naturally, I've hit some roadblocks and need advice. This is my first version of the handle, it has some pretty bad shading errors related to non-planar faces in the transition from the flat to the curved areas.

I started over completely anew and made this much better handle. The problem is I still haven't figured out how I'm going to make that flat area without screwing anything up. I'm also running into issues with that dropoff beside the end of the barrel. Does anyone have advice for making difficult geometry like this? A screenshot of similar shapes you've made would work. A book or a video that goes into detail on making difficult shapes while maintaining good topology would be perfect.

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    We're lazy people; do you mind also posting your reference photos that you're using?

regardless, I'd look into midpoly modeling.  This may help you think about your modeling in a less constrained way.
  • Anura_Interceptor
    Offline / Send Message