Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Rookie question regarding the game industry & quality of my work.

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Alkarath polycounter lvl 6
Hello my name is Luc Zeegers,
I am a self taught 3d designer and currently in a bit of a pinch. You see, I want to start applying for internships at game company's but finding myself constantly needing to improve because I think im not quite there yet. However due to only having myself as main feedback & point of reference this causes me to just go back & forth.

The following is the impression I have about the industry so far, and what i believe to be the best course of action to become part of the industry.
Since I'm totally grasping at straws here, I would love to hear what you guy's take on this is as people who are part of the industry.

I'm guessing that for an internship at a game company it would be wise to have atleast one or two finished game models (Lowpoly, textured) in my portfolio, now i focus mainly on sculpting humans (character artist is not really an entree position) but since it is now what i do best, it would still be wise to have a character as one of those finished pieces right?

This one is more vague and i guess dependent on the company, but i figured (or more so hoped) that if i make a full character retopo'd & textured in the approximate quality as the sculpts below, it would be good enough to give me atleast a slight possibility at getting accepted for an intership. (In otherwords its not completely hopeless from the get-go).
ps. Not aiming at getting an intership at a AAA studio or something like that, dream scenario is like a small to medium sized indie studio.

Any feedback is incredibly appreciated, and please be brutally honest, as I honestly have no idea where I stand and what to do / focus on to make this dream come closer to being true. Thank you all so much in advance.

Replies

• Zi0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zi0 polycounter