Home Technical Talk

Why do I have such ugly seams!! For some reason triplaner isn't helping me and my deadline in 2 week

Wankenstien
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Wankenstien polycounter lvl 5
Hey yall peeps, this is probably my first post so sorry if my etiquette is lacking, basically I've been working on a fish man model for my last year of college, I made the high poly Using ZBrush, did retopolgy in Maya, textured in Substance and now I will be moving back to Maya to render, the only problem is I've got some quite ugly seams which I cant seem to get rid of! They really bring down the quality of my model and I would hugely appreciate some help! 

Heres my baby

The above image is substance and the below image is Maya, why do the edges appear hard? and why does it look offset? I'm pretty new to the whole 3D thing so please forgive me if I've made some noob mistakes but any and all help would be appreciated at this point. Also for some reason triplaner projection doesn't seem to be working :s these seems are also present around my model in other place. D: xx

Replies

• Wankenstien
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Just to test and make sure the file wasn't the one to blame I conducted a quick test but found...........

......... the same results! dun dun daaan
  • wirrexx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    wirrexx quad damage
    so how close do you come to the char? is the seam visible in engine? try those things out mate, IF you'd zoom out, the seam will be practically invisible. Don't hang yourself up on these small issues. It will hinder you more then help you. 

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    they're using different tangent space for the normal rendering.

rebake your base normal in maya and replace the one you baked in Painter with that before re-exporting your final maps.
    The resultant  normal map should then be correct 

• Wankenstien
    Options