Home Career & Education

Advice for a self taught artist?

Hello all, I'm new here, hows everyone doing? Anyways, I've been modeling for about a year now and I'm trying to take myself to a professional level. Specifically in creating environments/weapons/vehicles for video games. I work full time and I do this in my spare time before work. However, this is something I really enjoy and am very passionate about. Does anyone have any advice on whether or not it is worth it to go to college for this? Is it better to keep teaching myself? Are there better opportunities for those with degrees? Am I wasting my time trying to bring myself to a professional level? I feel like I'm progressing but its taking a lot longer than I would like, I'm also not too sure I'm learning everything I need to learn that's related to game design (I learn a lot from YouTube and Udemy however sometimes the videos are for architectural renders and such which apply (I think, I could be wrong) different methods). I feel like there are a lot of gaps in my current working knowledge, I've been trying to plug those holes but when I do another one pops up. I really love modeling, and will continue to do so ad infinitum. I want to work my way towards a job in this field; the road is long and arduous any and all advice would help me see a distant light at the end of my very long, and extremely dark tunnel. If there is anyone who has been through these same trials and tribulations and has any advice to offer I would really, really appreciate it.

I searched for rules on the forums, and for some reason I could not find any, so if external links are not allowed I sincerely apologize, but here is a link to my current "portfolio" and what I've accomplished in a year, its not much, its really sparse, but I'm banging my head against a brick wall in terms of trying to figure out what I should do. 

https://mylestaft.crevado.com/

Sincerely,
That One Guy Over There

Replies

• poopipe
    Options