Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Male Gladiator [Wip - Real Time]

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Osharis polycounter lvl 4
Hi everyone! I wanna share with you my latest project. It's a character of a gladiator in Assassin's Creed Odyssey style. My main goal for this project was starting an indepth study of the anatomy, from muscles positioning to the different features of human skin.
I started from a simple model, since I already had some knowledge of basic muscles positioning.
What I really focused on was giving muscles a realistic effect. In the various steps you can see some anatomy errors in shape and structure. I have to admit that I have been working very hard on it and I took some breaks just to make my eyes rest. Hands and foot are not visible at the moment since I used old models for them (hands and feet are the very first parts I studied seriously some time ago). The model has been divided many times in order ti have a low-poly model for future corrections. If you have any feedback on that, please share with me in the comments.

PS. The model is for real-time  rendering, for reference i use Jason Statham, some image of Assassin's Creed Odyssey and more from Rafael Grassetti.
I hope you like it!

Replies

• apollo580
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    apollo580 polycounter lvl 9
    I think his arms are a bit too short, check out human proportion reference before going into too much detail.

Image result for loomis male proportions

• jose.fuentes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jose.fuentes interpolator
    i would slow down a bit, before going into the tertiary dets try to really work on the form, get that anatomy as best you can. I would bring in the zbrush skeleton and put it underneath the skin, so you can reference where the bones sit, that wil help inform you on how the muscles sit on top of that 
  • Osharis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi guys!