Home Career & Education

Keep hitting a wall in skill development

Hey everyone, I know this is unlikely a new topic here but I really could do with some advice. First things first of course is my portfolio: https://www.artstation.com/jordanch

So I studied Game Art and graduated back in 2015 but unfortunately had an absentee course leader/lecturer who taught us little and just gave us high marks when we did see him. Thankfully in our second and third year we got a much better, willing and enthusiastic teacher who changed everything for the better. Long story short though when we did graduate the first year were putting out work of quality we were just putting together ourselves. Since then I've cotinued to practice and develop my skills since, in the hopes of landing a job and learning even more. I've taken on the substance suite, become a lot more familiar with unreal, grasped the basics of world machine and most currently learning marmoset to really bring up the presentation of my work. The problem however lies with being unable to really excel and produce work that I'm not only proud of but catches the eye of other more experienced artists. This isn't for lack of enthusiasm as I can really get excited sink my teeth into a project, but often along something happens where I feel my work isn't up to par, I'm not improving or I just do not know how to improve. Basically I'm stuck in a rut. This happened most recently with the feudal Japan Artstation challenge (3D Production Environment). I was so eager to get stuck in, really knucled down but about half way through I started to fumble with what I was able to produce and seeing others work it all just seemed so inadequate. It ended up with me missing the deadline with a lot left to do. I definitely want to go back and finish it but I feel its broken on a fundamental level. At this point 4 years down the line I don't know how I'm going to break in.