Home Technical Talk

Vray Noob. Render time to long any suggestions?

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
99isthebest polycounter lvl 2

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here so sorry in advance if I've got this in the wrong spot or am doubling up a question that has already been asked. I'm just looking for some advice regarding Vray render times and also a question about materials. The above image is one of my first Vray renders and as you can see it's a pretty small file size but this took at least 12 hours to render and I want to try and render the image at 1080p. However when it comes time to render in full HD my render times seems to go through the roof. After starting it the other day before work I came home and it was up to 44 hours estimated time and counting. I guess my question is this, considering the lights in the scene etc is this a normal render time or have I gone wrong with the settings somewhere? I've been following tutorials as I don't fully understand all the render settings just yet. For reference my CPU is an I7-7700K and I have 32GB Ram and my Vray version is 3.40.01. Also while on the topic of Vray I thought I'd ask where people go to learn about texturing inside Vray. I see a lot of tutorials on youtube however most of them just have plain materials with no detail. I want to be able to add edge wear etc to models to make them look as realistic at possible any tips on doing this while using Hi Poly models? Or any tutorials you know of that explain how to do this.

Thanks in advance and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• Animas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Animas polycounter lvl 6
    Just trying to google/youtube all of vrays materials and maps would give you a decent start. While it won't provide you with do this, do that and receive masterpiece type of answer, if you think about how to use those things together, you will most likely learn something. ;)