Home Technical Talk

Advice with modeling a Greek/Roman column.

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
oraeles77 polycounter lvl 7
I'm modelling a Greek Roman column, (in an ionic style, with volutes and fluting).

my plan is to make the basic shape then export it to Zbrush (where I'm still learning how zbrush works) where I can add more detail such as the spirals.

I tried playing around with the spiral curves in Blender but I found they were too tricky to use.

First question,

with the two different types of volute's topology which would you chose?

left or right.

(left one is where the round bit is just a box sitting on top of the topology, ziggurat geometry (?)) the right one is where the bits all intersect and are a single mesh (again, no idea what the correct word is for this)

second question.

here is the column. and I wanted to ask a question about about geometry cause my knowledge may be several years out of date, or just wrong. you may notice that the trunk of the column is made up of very long rectangles, which span most of the length of the column?

I was told a long time ago by a CG person that long rectangles aren't a good thing, their reason didnt make sense and they insisted its better to up the poly count and use more subdivision,  I assume its cause of artifacts or something but they never explained why so I assumed it was just their opinion.

third question.

I've made the column, I've made the volutes, is it alright just to join the two objects and leave it at that or would you intersect them? recently online, I've come across a lot of CG people who'd insist its fine to just leave the two objects intersecting, while when I first learned this stuff, people seemed to be keen to boolean/intersect it and turn the whole thing into a mess. so suggestions, what to do with this?

thank you very much!

Replies

• Animas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Animas polycounter lvl 6