Home Career & Education

How to know whether you really enjoy doing it or if you are just forcing yourself to do 3d

lockey1995
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
lockey1995 polycounter lvl 5

Hey,

So basically at the minute it's sort of hot and cold with what i would say I really enjoyed when starting up and learning how to start etc, but now I do sometimes feel some opposition some days when doing it however, I still power through it but I just can't decide whether I truly love it and I'm putting up with it or I'm subconsciously forcing my self to do it, like it's hard work and I should step back and take a break for a bit and see if i get called back.

I will admit at times of being at work which i don't really enjoy, my mind wanders off to that topic and I will think about it, but when I've been getting on recently I have been seriously Procrastinating.

I've been doing 3D modelling now since about September 2 years ago and I could potentially see my self making a Career out of it eventually. However that being said I'm no where near that level yet and there is still literally tons to learn to get any where near that level. But at the current i really don't know where it's going all that's in my mind is what if I don't really enjoy it and I'm forcing my self to do it. I don't know if it's just burnout or something else I'd say life wise probably not the best at the moment there is a few other things I'm not happy with but I won't go into huge details with that.

What would you say to do I'm sort of stuck on a cross roads and it's been bugging me for a few weeks now.

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Do you WANT to do this for 60 hours a week?

Or more generally, would you want to be someone who's working on video games and films, etc.

It would also help us if you showed us your portfolio/body of work.  Most of your questions on PC have been technical/career questions.