Home Technical Talk

Zbrush multiple objects and reference workflow?

Asim7
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Asim7 polycounter lvl 8
Im new to Zbrush, I have made a human character with some armor pieces in Maya.
What would be the best way to work with those in Zbrush?

Right now I have them as 2 seperate objects in Maya, 1 is the character and other is the armor pieces combined. I want to sculpt the muscles and such for the character in Zbrush, and dents, scratches etc for the armor. 

My original plan was to import the character into Zbrush, then import the armor as a subtool? And work on each seperatly, would that be a good/correct way?

Also, how would I go about reference images? I know how to import a image into Zbrush, but apparently there is a correct way to do it with layers and such from what i've heard. I already tried importing a reference image, but it ended up making my model transparent :(

Thanks for any help you provide :)

Replies

• redhonour
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    redhonour polycounter lvl 8
    If you want the greatest degree of control while sculpting, you'll want to be able to isolate your parts somehow so having your armor and character split into different subtools is typically a good way to go. You might even consider splitting your armor further into more subtools should you require such control (pauldrons, greaves, gauntlets, etc). 

Beyond that you can also further control your parts using Zbrush's polygroups to separate out different elements within a subtool and control their visibility.

For reference images, I haven't ever used layers for this so I'd be interested to hear what advantages come with that from one who knows. These are two of my personal favs:

This method is a more traditional: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1OM59PQrFoI

This one is less traditional, but covers a step here I use with any ref image method including the above, storing views: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zhg3GYCQ5UI