Home Technical Talk

3D Workflow for SoloDev

Hello everyone!

I'm a solo game dev, creating a 3D indie game. And I would really appreciate some insights on the best 3D workflow possible to model realistic characters/ props/ vehicles, using Unreal Engine 4 & PBR materials.

I can only rely on Maya LT & Substance Painter/ Designer because of my low budget :p . I can't therefore include ZBrush/ 3D Coat, although I'm aware of the Sculptris alternative from Pixologic, but I'm not sure how can I really use it in my workflow, especially for retopology.

How can I then model High Poly Meshes? Will that be an obstacle for me to avoid digital sculpting (& High Poly models at all)? Or should I use Maya to create each High Poly Models? 

Thank you very much in advance for your answers!

Replies

• Neox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox godlike master sticky
    well go for a hardsurface look, something scifi or dieselpunk or steampunk will work for sure. you can model all of it, just avoid fabrics. i meqn you could model it for sure but might be very expensive in terms of time. all damage could be done with substance painter, so you avoid sculpting on this.
  • Aabel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Aabel polycounter lvl 6
    This guy does just fine without Zbrush. Low and high poly appealing characters: https://twitter.com/sakuramochiJP/media If you scroll down far enough he posts some images of his process. There's even some great cloth in there.

• Mink
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mink polycounter lvl 6
    Use blender. Use bevels. There's all sorts of things you can do with high poly meshes that don't require zbrush.
  • sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range

Your app pipeline is fine for making a Mech game...just a thought.
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter