Home Technical Talk

A better solution to 3DSMAX?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Bletzkarn polycounter lvl 6
Is there any programs or anything on the horizon that do a better job than 3DSMAX?

I've been using max for about 4 years, 2 years professionally.

I also use many modern tools like Substance Designer, Adobe Suite and the Unity Game Engine. All these programs have really nice UX, run smoothly and use modern concepts such as instancing and procedural development.

Max is such a massive pain to use. Crashes constantly. There's always export issues. There is no concept of non-destructive skinning in max, rigging is a nightmare, bones always break. Max doesn't even have usable mirroring. 

50% of my time in max is fighting the software.

I feel the only way to use max is buying expensive plugins that fix what a giant mess it is.

Is there any program out there that is as smooth as say substance designer, that can Model, UV, Skin, Rig and Animate?

Replies

• pior
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blender is certainly worth looking into. But consider maybe you're using the software incorrectly. Max 2019 is very nice, tons of time spent on core stability. Lots of love given to Skinning.

Instancing and procedural dev? Have you learned about cloning options like Instancing vs. Referencing? Modifier stack is amazing if used properly.

Houdini is also worth a look, if proceduralism is your thing.
  • PolyHertz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    Blender, Maya, Modo, Houdini, and Cinema4D. Other then 3DSMax those are basically the only options as far as all-in-one solutions.
    Well, there's also Lightwave but very few people seem to use it anymore, and Softimage/XSI but development on that stopped a few years ago.
  • Shrike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator