Home Technical Talk

[Maya] ~ Rigging, overlapping IK chains seem to be unviable, I need help

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Steamy_Steve triangle
Hi everybody.

I'm working on a gargoyle animated character for the game design course I'm following and I've stumbled on a problem with IK chains for the legs.
[WARNING: this is my very first attempt at rigging and animation, vague directions won't help, please provide detailed solutions.]

The green line includes hip, knee and "heel".
The purple line includes knee, "heel" and "ankle".
The two red circles are the controllers.

My goal is to animate the legs in some sort of "pedaling" movement when the gargoyle attacks.
I tried with a single IK chain from the hip to the "ankle", but the result is quite messy because the solver makes the knee rotate in crazy directions.
So I tried with two overlapping IK chains (which is the reason behind the scheme colors distribution in the attached image), but odd things happen and the result is nothing like what I'm trying to achieve.

I'm sure someone else has already faced and solved this type of anatomical configuration and, given enough time, I could as well.
But, as I already stated, this is my VERY first attempt at rigging and animation, thus I lack the knowledge and experience to support my problem solving process.

Please help. -.-'

Replies

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    Something to keep in mind is that vertebrate animals have the same bone structure. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparative_anatomy

So what you want to do is rig this like it was a human leg and treat the bottom half as the foot.
    In this picture you can see that the wrist on a human hand is the same as the ankle on a dog.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparative_anatomy#/media/File:Homology_vertebrates-en.svg
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter