Home Career & Education

I've been offered a job but....

CGPotato
null
Offline / Send Message
CGPotato null
Hi all,

I've recently been offered a job in my field (sort of). This is my first offer after graduating  however while it is in my general area of interest it's totally the wrong side of it, if that makes scene, it's clean up and match move work, which Is not my area at all I'm a character animator. 
I'm torn whether I should accept it. I'm aware that any experience is good experience but I feel that there are too many caveats. The job is the other side of the country, it's not really work that I'd put on my showreel, the pay isn't really enough to move on nor is the contract long enough I'd end up losing money doing this.

I'm financially secure enough to continue as I am so I'm not desperate for the employment. on one hand I feel that taking it will be a mistake in the scene that I'm going to have to put myself in the red just for the opportunity, but on the other hand I feel that not taking it will be a mistake too.

I'd really appreciate some advice on this situation, 
thanks.

Replies

• sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    Well at the end of the day it's your call but really I strongly suspect you've already expended a forensic level of thought in terms of weighing the pros v cons scenario which from my perspective leans quite heavily towards the latter so....
  • Andreicus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreicus polycounter lvl 6
    I think you already answered yourself to the question.
    To give you my opinion, if money is not a problem ( and it seems that it is your case ) i wouldn't move to the other side of my country to do something i don't like and that don't pay well neither.
    You won't have any advantages really.
  • jStins
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jStins interpolator