Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critique

JoeGerrard777
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
JoeGerrard777 polycounter lvl 2
Hi all,

I have just recently started a course in game art at university and I wanted to recieve some criticisms or advice as to what direction I should take my portfolio in to land a job as an artist in the games industry. Im still learning the pipeline for creating game assets so I dont have many to showcase however any critism on any part of my portfolio will be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

Replies

• RocketBryan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RocketBryan polycount sponsor
    Honestly...this is really solid work, man! I'm not really a prop artist so I'm likely an easier judge, but I have zero real crits to give. Most student portfolios tend to need at least a little bit of house-keeping or curating to get to entry-level standard, but I think you're pretty much already there quality-wise. One example I really dig is your BB droid - the two variations in styling and material weathering is a nice way to showcase variety within the same project or asset. Definitely a nice touch to an otherwise straight-forward model.

In my opinion you've got a really strong start, so keep on keeping on and you should be fine when the time comes to start applying.
  • Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Yo, you need to start watermarking your work, so people can know where to find you! My main critique with your portfolio is the wood on the AK would be sanded down and smoother, but you've got a grainy bumpiness to it. Great portfolio, just keep making more stuff!
  • JonJo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JonJo interpolator