Home Career & Education

cover letter critique

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Simon_____ polycounter lvl 5
im a recent graduate and im applying for my first position as an art intern, i've not had to write a cover letter before so i imagine im pretty off with this.

this is the guide on the application  
"outline your motivation for an internship at Rare and any work experience you may have. Please also state where you heard about our internships." 

my cover letter

Dear Hiring Manager,

I am writing to express my interest for the Rare Internship which I discovered via your website.

I believe I would be a good fit for this position as I am a highly motivated and passionate 3d artist. My education has trained me in a range of skills, I am a natural team player who gives space to others and who goes out of his way to help work colleagues at every opportunity. I am constantly trying to improve my skill and am eager to learn new software tools and technologies

I would love to have a chance to build on my knowledge whilst working with the talented artists at Rare. I also value the way your games such as the innovative Sea of Thieves are created with the players experience and personal adventures are the focus, being able to contribute to experiences such as this would be fantastic

I am excited to work for a company like yours where gamers and passion are at the heart of its success. I look forward for the chance to prove myself to you and the position of an intern, thank you for your time 

Yours sincerely,

any feedback is greatly appreciated

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Explain why you like Rare games in particular besides Sea of Thieves.  They have larger history.