Home Technical Talk

Head sculpting | Start with a sphere or base mesh?

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Melubnio polycounter lvl 3
Hi there,

I'm quite new in the 3D industry (more specifically to sculpting in Zbrush) and my main point of interest has always been character creation. 
I would like to hear your opinion in regards to this situation as it looks like I'm not making any progress at all. 

The problem is: I usually start with a sphere when I need to sculpt a head but I'll always end up having awkward proportions and spend hours and hours defining the muscles. Looking at other professionals in the industry though, they always start with a base head so I was wondering if a junior 3D sculptor should do that as well. 

I'm focusing on the head because looks like that's the part I always have struggled with, especially when it needs to be realistic

In the following picture, you can see my best attempts at making stylized female and demon head, with the body of the female I was trying to sculpt with dynamesh, everything starting with a sphere. I'm sharing these so that you could suggest me the right path based on my current skill. ( I honestly don't enjoy to spend days only to sculpt a head )

Thank you,
Adam

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    Use base meshes, 3d scans, and 2d reference to help you understand what you are missing, but not as a "shortcut." You won't always be able to rely on pre-made stuff, so you've got to know what to do. 

Looks like the main thing wrong with that female head is lack of skull structure. Why not start with sculpting some human skulls, then build an ecorche by adding the muscles on one at a time? It will take a lot of time and be tedious as fuck (but not so bad if you are concerned wih thorough learning, rather than completing work), but by the time you are finished, you'll know exactly how a human skull is composed.