Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Doom-esque demon for portfolio [WIP - looking for feedback]

FittedMushroom
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
FittedMushroom polycounter lvl 2

Basically was just looking for feedback on a sculpt I wanted to put into my portfolio.
Any help or feedback is appreciated (just really looking to make my character pop a bit more)

Thank you :)

Replies

• MarcoAntonio
    Offline / Send Message
    MarcoAntonio polycounter lvl 6
    I am not the most appropriate person to talk since I am not a character artist but there are some things that in my opinion could be improved.
    For example, the knees are too thin and those feet are over distorted. I don´t know If these demon would be able to run properly.

Another problem are the hands. They are way too big compared to the rest of the arm. I am not quite sure if it would be able to attack properly. The hand may weigh too much and the muscles are not big enough.

Another problem is the head. What are those things? Do they have a purpose?

Futhermore, I see that you already made some surface details (Which are awesome by the way) but the silhouette is not that good. You should work more on it before going any further.
  • Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    The silhouette of the thing reads like one of those "creatures from the black lagoon" monsters from ancient horror movies. If it is to be a Doom inspired monster, I'd consider filling out the silhouette by adding in some mech components -- something like the Revenant. 
  • FittedMushroom
    Offline / Send Message
    tBIGTIMEMASTER said:
    The silhouette of the thing reads like one of those "creatures from the black lagoon" monsters from ancient horror movies. If it is to be a Doom inspired monster, I'd consider filling out the silhouette by adding in some mech components -- something like the Revenant.