Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Environment] ~ Total newbie looking for feedback and advice on |grass|

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Steamy_Steve triangle
Hello!

I've started fiddling with 3D and videogames production a few months ago, and now I'm involved in a small indie project.
We're just five people, so we have to be flexible and ready to learn every kind of new skills, one of which is making open world environments.
My tasks were to learn how to make a terrain in World Machine, then how to correctly import the heightmap in UE4, then how to make terrain materials in Substance Designer, and now how to make proper foliage (and more to come!).

I've started with grass because it's one of the assets that is going to recur the most in our open world environments.
Four days of tutorials, tests and troubleshooting led me to this....

Not too bad, for a total newbie, if I can say it myself.
Now, though, I'm not really satisfied with the quality. Not in terms of realistic look, more about.....I dont know, as it is now it's just a waving sea of fairly big strands of (allegedly) grass.
I'm not looking for something realistic, as this is going to be a fantasy game with a touch of cartoonish, but I'm pretty sure I could do something better.
Also, this is a quite tall grass type, 40-50cm tall, I'd like to also make something more suitable for a scruffy lawn.

What I'd like to learn is:
.- what's the best way to arrange "cards" when making grass clusters?
-. how big should a grass cluster (group of cards that compose the object) be depending on its use?
.- how should I arrange the cards to get the best look for a tall type and for a short type of grass?
-. what types of grass are more suitable for tall and short clusters?
.- when looking at a reference, what traits should I focus on to be sure my grass will look anything even slightly close to realistic/plausible?
-. what bad pratices should I avoid? any best practice I should learn?