Home Technical Talk

Modo normal map artifacts

streamdream
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
streamdream polycounter lvl 3
Hello, I am very new to Modo but I am trying to make a switch to it from Maya, because last summer I used modo to do some modelling and I really took a liking to the program! So right now I am trying to learn to bake normal maps with rounded edge shading (with various edge sizes using sets) since that would be super usefull!
I followed alot of different tutorials. However I keep getting normal map artifacts that looks like flipped faces/ normals, as if the cage wasn't big enough or as if I had stacked uvs. I usually don't have any problems when baking normal maps in Xnormal, Marmouset or Maya I don't know what is causing it but it has to be something I missed in Modo.
This is what I have done so far to try to fix the problem.

-I have increased the size of the mesh to make baking easier.

-I have runned mesh cleanup on all meshes.

-I have removed the uv map for the high poly since it wont need it.

-I have made a cage and an explode using morph maps.

-I have softed all the edges on the low poly except the uv seem edges they are hardend.

-I tried with a test scene and got fairly good results, so something has to be wrong with the scene I am baking from?

Yet I keep getting artifacts and it doesn't even look like it is baking the rounded edges like before. If anyone know what might be causing it I would really appreciate the help, thank you!

Replies

• streamdream
    Offline / Send Message
  • Goco
    Offline / Send Message
    Goco triangle
    Hello,

I take a look at your file. The main problem was that you didn't have the highpoly material and in that material group have different selection sets for rounded shader. Also, there was none hard edges assignment and vertex normal on lowpoly ( maybe lost on import or something ).