Home Technical Talk

A little help from the experienced! Improving workflow for 3D characters

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
miketzet polycounter lvl 6
Hello guys,

I am a 3D character artist student in my first year of studies. As I don't have so much experience in creating characters--I have created 1 full creature, posed and rendered in marmoset and a bust of the same, also rendered in marmoset. I am having a very hard time trying to orient my workflow. At this moment, I am creating a female warrior that I started sculpting in zbrush and she is equipped with all sorts of things (armour, leather straps, trousers, boots, a belt, fabrics, that count down from her waist, etc. etc.). In zbrush I sculpted the base mesh body and with extracts and using marvelous, I created clothes and armor. After that, I retopologised only the bust of the girl, regarding the rest I zremeshed and made them into low-poly objects ready for uv unwrapping. I textured, gave pose through zbrush, maintained all the objects separated and....its's actually a mess. I am trying so hard to organize everything and have total control over my character and I'm getting lost. My goal is to create a character that is not presented as a soulless tpose model, but as a model, ready to pose and be "photographed".

I know that everyone has their workflow and it is something that depends to their way of thinking and organising, but I really wanted to know what is it would be a good way to orient my workflow so that I can get better and better.

Thank you in advance

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    "At this moment, I am creating a female warrior that I started sculpting in zbrush and she is equipped with all sorts of things (armour, leather straps, trousers, boots, a belt, fabrics, that count down from her waist, etc. etc.)."