Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modular AR15 Kit

insane polycounter
Offline / Send Message
Amsterdam Hilton Hotel insane polycounter
I'm working on a project to make a bunch of swappable AR15 parts that all work together as a kit. The modular design of the AR15 and its huge number of aftermarket parts enable the idea.

In order to finish this century, I'm targeting a third-person spec that will allow me to be loose with highpoly modeling techniques while still taking advantage of baking and contemporary materials. The final appearance will look something like this or this.

I don't know how many parts I'll make, right now I have a big master document but really my attention span is going to be the limiting factor.

This is a pseudo-highpoly M4 that I made for a previous lowpoly project and which I'm using as a base for this one. For the new parts I'm going to increase the detail resolution slightly because I might bump up the final texel density relative to the project this was made for. I'll be cramming lots of parts onto shared texture sheets in order to texture large numbers of assets at the same time.

Magpul MIAD:

Using basic poly modeling techniques here with edge chamfers done procedurally in the stack

Magpul K2:

Why poly model one and boolean the other? Let me tell you, chaos reigns. Right now I'm just using whichever technique seems like it will get the job done fastest.

Magpul SL:

Magpul MOE M-LOK handguard:

In carbine, mid-length, and rifle dimensions:

Troy M-LOK handguard:

(This should be paired with a low profile gas block, however I haven't made one yet, so bear with the A2 style front post for now)

And a Troy drop-in rail:

Eventually I want to set up a Unity project where you can click on the various parts to change them out in real-time, as a model of how games should be handling gun customization. Haven't gotten there yet.