[WIP] A Gentleman's Chair

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
theokain triangle
UPDATE:
finished model:
model

My goal is to make a low-poly (6 -10k) fantastical but believably functional chair that can be a central prop in a real-time engine.

For the style I chose baroque and art nouveau mix with a steampunky vibe.
For the story I imagined a wealthy middle aged late 18th early 19th century gentleman with a touch of eccentricity as the likeliest owner of an object like this.

The chair will have an animated cannon firing mechanism [push forward on the stick] and a recline function [pull back on the stick] just be careful not to mix them up...

I'm designing this chair with functionality in mind, the gears will move in the right direction etc, however I'm no engineer...  The question is how much can I get away with!

The other question is whether I should hand-paint or go with a realistic pbr workflow? I'm tending towards hand-painting at the moment.

The moodboard

And here's the concept sketch

So far I've put about 3 days work building up the model. The challenges have been getting all these elements to fit together nicely, so I've had to be creative with my bracket sytem, lol.

wip quad view

Hope everyone likes it and look forward to comments and critique!

Replies

• Lukeman87
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lukeman87 node
    Cool concept! Your poly flow is looking solid thus far. The only recommendation I have is to add a little more geometry to the cylindrical objects just to round them out a bit more. Look forward to the finished piece!
  • theokain
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    theokain triangle
    @Lukeman87
    Thanks! I've added a few more loops to round out the forms as suggested.

Always a struggle to hit a strict poly budget and I went over by about 600 tris, 10.6k total.