Home Technical Talk

Best 3d software for realistic rendering

Hi Guys/Girls,

I hope you guys can help me out as I am really new in this field. I am a AI researcher looking to quickly set up realistic looking environments with minimal artistic effort. In these environments we will try some simple scripting (e.g. like automatically taking screenshots, moving objects around, and changing lighting/weather conditions). I've dabbled a bit using Unity and the scripting side looks really nice but I have not achieved realistic looking scenes yet.  We're really looking to make environments looking as realistic as possible (not as aesthetic as possible). Could you guys give me an opinion as to which 3D environment (that allows for simple scripting) would be suitable to let us generate realistic environments (while being non-artistic geeks). Are there big differences between Unity5/UE4/Cryengine?

We should note that we don't care so much for FPS as we are starting off by only considering static environments, but maybe we would like to incorporate moving objects at a later stage so. We also don't mind paying for assets.

Thank you very kindly for your expert input :)

Replies

• prixster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    prixster polycounter lvl 6
    Unreal, in particular, looks best when it can use its baked-lighting deferred rendering pipeline, which generally isn't suitable for games without static environments. If you're truly comfortable learning the ins and outs of any tool, I might actually suggest Cryengine (or perhaps Lumberyard nowadays, being based on Cryengine tech). Cryengine has always been focused on real time lighting, massive view distances, and large environments.