Home Technical Talk

New to animation

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
salimmatta polycounter lvl 7
Hey guys,

I'm a game artist and I would love to engage into animation, but before doing so I would love some guidance on where to start from? for example should I need to understand and do rigging and inserting bones before doing animation? etc etc

Thanks in advance

Replies

• Blouko
    Offline / Send Message
    Blouko polycounter lvl 6
    Rigging and animation are definitely two different practices and they are very different from each other. I'd suggest you start by animating some pre-rigged free models from Cubebrush or other websites. 

After that, if you want to animate your own characters, you can try rigging your own models. But rigging is a whole different story. It's less artistic and more technical than animating, but some people like it.
  • salimmatta
    Offline / Send Message
    Blouko said:
    Rigging and animation are definitely two different practices and they are very different from each other. I'd suggest you start by animating some pre-rigged free models from Cubebrush or other websites. 

After that, if you want to animate your own characters, you can try rigging your own models. But rigging is a whole different story. It's less artistic and more technical than animating, but some people like it.
    Thanks a lot mate, I will try what you told me about. Correct me if I'm wrong, is it mandatory for an environmental artist to know character animations?
  • Eric Chadwick
    Nope. Two very different jobs. Unless you're in a very small studio or indie.
  • salimmatta
    Offline / Send Message
    Yes I'm in an indie studio so far and we only have 1 animator.
  • Mark Dygert
    It's not uncommon for an animator to know how to rig.

Usually the first person that gets hired in the animation department is a technical animator that mostly knows how to rig but can animate.