Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Looking for topology feedback on a base model for a character customization system

halbe
null
Offline / Send Message
halbe null
Greetings! This is my first time making a model that will utilize morph targets, and it seems that once I set them up I won't be able to easily touch up the model since verts can't be added or removed, so I'd better get it right at the beginning. Not only that, but the base model is to be androgynous so that it can be morphed between male and female. I figured I'd start with female since it will be easier to turn breasts into a male chest, and for the sake of future sliders I've been modeling what stuff would look like (such as fat/muscular limbs) then toning them down. It'll need to support males, females, skinny people, fat people, muscular people, old people, and children. Does this seem like the right way to do it? If so, I'd like some feedback on my topology setup.

There will be 3 LOD levels, a 5k tri one (which I'm modeling at), a 20k tri one (subdivided from the former), and a <1k tri one which I'll make later. The game is normally in first person but can switch to behind the shoulder third person which is why the back of the head is pretty detailed.

Here's the model right now: https://skfb.ly/6yvQo

I'll take feedback on any area, but the one I'm particularly unsure about is the torso, front and back. Specifically the topology of the front and the amount of detail on the back. I'd like to save verts where I can but maybe I was a little to overzealous on the lower back. The upper back stretches out a lot when I make it shaped like a muscular guy so I didn't want to remove much there. Thoughts?

Replies

• carvuliero
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character
    Is this going to be cartoony or asian hand painted character ?
    Do you really need to work that low ?
    Do you need toes ?