Home Technical Talk

[Maya][Python] Logic Revision in a Display Toggle Script

polycounter
Offline / Send Message
Justo polycounter
I wanted to see how to shorten some of these expressions if possible as I'm still learning...It´s a script that'll toggle meshes between High Quality Display and Low Quality Display. Some of my bigger concerns are three:

1-To set something to HQ, I believe the only flag needed is -polygonObject, even though in the Script Editor when you press the default shortcut it also changes -divisionU, -divisionV, -pointsWire and -pointsShaded.  I didn't really find a use for these...
2-Some objects for some reason will sometimes say their polygonObject (PO) flag value is 0 and others 1 (whyyyy), thus I had to include this in the script with an or.
3-I wanted the script to set objects back to PO=1 ONLY if all objects were in High Quality first. So I made a for expression first that would check this before assigning values, and created two boolean variables to act as switches. Can this be shortened, somehow?

<div>isLow  = False
isHigh = False
sel = cmds.ls(sl=True)

#Check in the selection if there are HQ and LQ displays mixed 
for obj in sel:
    cmds.select(obj, r=True)  #Replace selection to be examined
    getPOValue = cmds.displaySmoothness( q=1, po=1 )  #Get flag value from the selection
    if  getPOValue == [3L]:
        isHigh = True      
    if  getPOValue ==  [1L] or getPOValue ==  [0L]:
        isLow = True 

#Assign PO Values
for obj in sel:
    cmds.select(obj, r=True)
    getPOValue = cmds.displaySmoothness( q=1, po=1 )
    if  getPOValue ==  [1L] or getPOValue ==  [0L]:
        cmds.displaySmoothness( po=3 )
    else:  
        #Only set everything to LQ if everything is HQ first
        if isHigh == True and isLow == False:
            cmds.displaySmoothness( po=1 )

cmds.select(sel, r=True) #Return to the initial selection<br></div>

Anyway, thanks to anyone who takes the time to read this :) !

Replies

• throttlekitty