PBR texture scanning vs. Bitmap 2 Material approach

Yamta
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Yamta null
Hey everyone,

(Preface)
I know you guys get stupid questions a lot so please bear with me but I didn't find anything through searching on your forums regarding this. This is my first post on the forum and I'm not a 3D artist by trade (at all) so for me this is a stretch in ability/knowledge base- which is why I came here!

To give some background I'm making an augmented reality app to help customers better visualize different hardwoods/carpets in their homes. Here is an example of the type of app we're creating.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eswoftTFx0g 

We know we wanted the highest realism possible so we decided on PBR formatted textures. Currently our process is taking a swatch (like this http://www.timbercreekhardwoodflooring.com/images/swatches/lg/MapleNatural.jpg) from a manufacturer's website, sending it through Substance B2M, swapping out different parameters depending on the type (wood/tile/etc...) and finish (glossy/rough/etc...) and then rendering that tileable material on a mesh in Unity.

I recently discovered PBR material scanning via photogrammetry. It got me thinking that I should really be asking experts what they think of our current process, and how we could make it as realistic as possible. 

My questions are:
Is PBR material scanning better than our current process? If so, how, and by how much (qualitatively)?
Is there a better way to do our current process? 
What would you do in my position?

Thanks for all your input, I really REALLY appreciate it. Any comments/concerns/questions are ULTRA welcome!

Cheers,

Yamta

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter